Mind Over Money

Mind Over Money The acclaimed author of Time Warped tackles the very latest research in the fields of neuroscience psychology and biology to provide a fresh fascinating and thought provoking look at our relations

  • Title: Mind Over Money
  • Author: Claudia Hammond
  • ISBN: 9780062317018
  • Page: 189
  • Format: ebook
  • The acclaimed author of Time Warped tackles the very latest research in the fields of neuroscience, psychology, and biology to provide a fresh, fascinating, and thought provoking look at our relationship with money perfect for fans of Dan Ariely and Freakonomics.We know we need money and we often want of it, but we don t always think about the way it affects our mindsThe acclaimed author of Time Warped tackles the very latest research in the fields of neuroscience, psychology, and biology to provide a fresh, fascinating, and thought provoking look at our relationship with money perfect for fans of Dan Ariely and Freakonomics.We know we need money and we often want of it, but we don t always think about the way it affects our minds and our emotions, skews our perceptions and even changes the way we behave.Award winning BBC Radio 4 host Claudia Hammond delves into the surprising psychology of money to show us that our relationship with the stuff is complex than we might think Drawing on the latest research in psychology, neuroscience and behavioral economics, she draws an anatomy of the power it holds over us She also reveals some simple and effective tricks that will help you use and save money better from how being grumpy can stop you getting ripped off to why you should opt for the expensive pain relief and why you should never offer to pay your friends for favors.An eye opening and entertaining investigation into the power money holds over us, Mind Over Money will change the way you view the cash in your wallet and the figures in your bank account forever.

    • Unlimited [Sports Book] ☆ Mind Over Money - by Claudia Hammond ¸
      189 Claudia Hammond
    • thumbnail Title: Unlimited [Sports Book] ☆ Mind Over Money - by Claudia Hammond ¸
      Posted by:Claudia Hammond
      Published :2018-05-03T20:32:05+00:00

    1 thought on “Mind Over Money”

    1. Geld ist ein faszinierender Gegenstand, mit dem eine Reihe von Emotionen verknüpft ist. Selbst Kinder, die den Geldwert noch nicht kennen, wissen bereits, dass man mit realem Geld umsichtig umgehen sollte. Zunächst dient das Zahlungsmittel als Versprechen, später damit konkrete Gegenstände oder Dienstleistungen kaufen zu können, die wir uns wünschen. Geld hat große Macht über unser Handeln, es zwingt uns zum Handeln. Doch die Motive, die Kaufentscheidungen steuern, sind selten rational. [...]

    2. I did enjoy this book, and it highlighted for me some neat "tricks" to stopping myself from spending money, but this was a REALLY research heavy book. I think most people are ok with being told a fact, and having it backed up by one or two reference. This read like a dissertation where some poor student was proving that the earth was flat. Ms. Hammond, we get it, you do not need to spend PAGES proving a relatively simple point that MOST people would get behind with one research paper supporting [...]

    3. The psychology of money is rapidly become an important area of research. While economists have tended to assume that we make rational decisions with our money, we're rapidly becoming aware that we really don't.Mind Over Money is a compilation of the research on the psychology of money -- which is its greatest weakness, as well as its greatest strength. Almost every major research project on the subject is summarized in this book, often in only a few paragraphs, before jumping into the next proje [...]

    4. First Impression: I always enjoy a good piece about money, most of us love money, all of us use it as a tool to achieve what we want in life. Claudia puts together a collection of insights into the psychology of money with the intention of teaching us how achieve mind over money. Thank you to Net Galley for sending this book to me in exchange for an honest review.Summary Of The Book:Come and join Claudia Hammond on a journey through the rough psychological landscape that is our relationship with [...]

    5. This book was definitely worth the read. I have an interest in behavioral economics but I am not a specialist, so I was familiar with a number of the topics discussed and the observations made by the author, but the author also covered some topics with which I was not familiar that I found very interesting. A good example of this was the discussion of poverty and its likely impact an individual's approach to making economic decisions. I think I will always remember the author's suggestion not to [...]

    6. I received this book thanks to a giveaway.At first I found the subject matter interesting, but at a certain point, I found it harder and harder to stay interested. Maybe I just had an overload of information.

    7. A very informative and also entertaining read. The author bases her Interpretation of our emotional relationship with money on an insane amount of scientific studies and adds aspects from her own personal experiences to explain and illustrate those studies. Some chapters were not interesting for me, but the way the book is organized it is very easy to read those chapters only very broadly.I like the way she sums up what the chapters are about at the beginning of each chapter. And the general tip [...]

    8. An excellent, informative, entertaining and thought provoking read, this really has made me reevaluate the way I think about money. Referencing numerous medical and psychological studies, the author looks at how we become attached to money , both as a concept and in its physical form, from a very young age, how we can let it motivate us, and surprisingly how it can demotivate us too. Though relatively short, the author packs in a lot of information, in an easily digestible user friendly form and [...]

    9. A very interesting look at the way we look at money especially in the first chapter. There were lots of studies to determine how we view different situations involving our attitudes towards money. Some of which were quite contrary to how I would have viewed the situation prior to reading the well researched attitudes. Most of the time I thought that my attitudes towards money agreed with the outcome various tests which were covered in different chapters of the book. I am sure being brought up du [...]

    10. One of those books that everyone should read.Whenever I get to a scientific book, I am a bit anxious if it will be boring. Well, it wasn't the case this time. Claudia Hammond manages to give a lot of information and most of it definitely seems useful. It is neither too long or too short and in the final chapter has 32 points which are basically the whole book in a nutshell. It is cool that she is the narrator of her own book and does a good job out of it. It is always a great idea for the author [...]

    11. Truly an interesting book to read. A credible multi-disciplinary work was a joy to encounter in these days when some people just claim to know about stuff and then write a book on that basis. Also, I can't discount the value of Finland being mentioned at least twice! We need these kind of Hammonds, these authors who are willing to compile research for us layman readers, make it accessible and thus help us keep up with the world. Hammond's writing is engaging and light, even though she's writing [...]

    12. This was a great read. Hammond teaches the reader a lot about humans' relationship with money. I found myself connecting a lot with all of her anecdotes. As someone who conducts psychological research, I also very much appreciated how many studies Hammond details throughout the book -- almost 300! I enjoyed every moment of this book, found it immensely relevant to my life, and can see myself using some of the tips she outlines in the future.

    13. The book surely comprises quite a lot of interesting information and thought-provoking research results, basically with regard to human psychology in contexts of money.However, its writing style is clearly too long and every (in itself interesting) information is spreaded out over way too many lines and pages, which makes it appear boring and trivial at times.After all, an interesting book - unless you depend on a "to-the-point"-writing style to enjoy it.

    14. This book was a gift, but is not necessarily one that I would have chosen myself. Large parts of the book were made up from psychology test after psychology test and at times this made it dull. But all in all it was mostly interesting with some helpful ways of thinking in relation to money.

    15. For the most part, I found Mind Over Money very fascinating and a worthwhile read. Occasionally, the author goes too far off the subject and draws conclusions that take away from the overall reading experience. But it was definitely a good read.

    16. A good book and interesting in parts. Found out that we all hate losing money, no matter how it happens or the amount. It has also changed my view on splitting a restaurant bill.

    17. The relationship (good and bad) people have with money is discussed in this book.I found a few sections of this book interesting but overall it was a bit long winded for me.

    18. I confess it took me awhile to get through this book, but 263 studies referenced on how your brain and money interact are worth the read.

    19. Mildly amusing with a couple of interesting insights but if you're looking for a rigorous analysis give this a miss.

    20. Interesting at first but I must admit all of the studies and experiments grew tiresome towards the end. I still enjoyed the book though, for the most part.

    21. Liked it, didn't love it. Found out about it on NPR when the author was on Fresh Air. The book was good but too filled with results of studies. But I am not turned on by "money" books right now, unless they involve something fun. Still don't understand why the band burned the money.

    22. Het blijft een bijzondere relatie tussen mens en geld. Mensen die het hebben willen meer en mensen die minder hebben hebben meer nodig. Money makes the world go round is nog nooit zo waar geweest. Claudia Hammond duikt in de wereld van het geld en hoe de mens hier van kleins af aan mee omgaan. Alles in de wereld draait om geld en het verwerven van meer geld. Als een groep eksters kunnen wij niet om de glimmende muntjes en mooie papiertjes heen. Geld is niet alleen een betaalmiddel het koop ook i [...]

    23. A fascinating guide to using psychology when dealing with money, written by a regular of B B C Radio 4.Claudia Hammond always holds interest on the radio and her writings are no exception.I was given a digital copy of this book by the publisher Cannongate Books via Netgalley in return for an honest unbiased review.

    24. The author makes some insightful connections between psychology and money. personally I always enjoy reading about psych studies, and find the methods and even conclusions simply fascinating. Hammond managed to satisfy with this work.

    25. An entertaining review of the psychology of money and finance with clear explanations of recent research.

    26. “Mind Over Money” is a good introduction to personal financing. The content is very approachable and scrupulously researched.

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *